Things in Motion Stay in Motion

You have likely heard the phrase “Things in motion stay in motion.” The quote stems from Newton’s first law of motion, “Every object in a state of uniform motion tends to remain in that state of motion unless an external force is applied to it.” If this is true for objects, is it also accurate for us? I say yes.

I’ve been reflecting quite a bit on where I am at currently in the grand scheme of life and I realized something pretty freaking awesome. In life we are constantly faced with 3 choices:
1. Stay the Same
2. Move backward
3. Move forward

The first option, to stay the same, is what most people default to. It’s really easy to stay the same because it is really comfortable to do so! If you choose the first option, consciously or not, you are making the choice to go about daily life in a manner that isn’t necessarily “bad”… but is it satisfying?

271341946269287259_iwc3x9tl

The second option, to move backwards, is a feeling that most of us do not enjoy. I’ve been faced with this option time and time again. I’ll give you an example. When I moved back from Montana, I did not have much money. At that time I knew I could go be a pizza delivery driver or work in a restaurant again for extra cash. But to me that would have been moving backwards. I had already done that. I had already learned the lessons I needed to learn from that experience. It wouldn’t be something that would challenge me whatsoever because I had already proved to myself that I could do it. Moving backwards tends to make everything else in life a lot more challenging to. It might be comfortable but sooner or later it will end up extremely uncomfortable because your mind will not be stimulated.

The last option, and my personal favorite, moving forward. Something pretty magical ends up happening when you put all of your focus and energy into moving forward with life. When you decide, “Yup… everything I do from now on is going to contribute to my growth as a person” and you refuse to go back to option 1 or 2, doors FLY open. If you want more, do more, become more!

to_get_something_youve
My favorite part about all of this is that it is a choice! πŸ™‚ Things in motion truly do stay in motion and if you’re looking for upward advancement in your life, look at the decisions you make daily. Are you being challenged? Are you increasing? Are you growing? If the answer is no, are you happy with that? Ask yourself more questions!

Personally, I am choosing to stay in motion. I know what it feels like to stay the same and to move backwards, and I also know moving forward feels SO much better.

Keep on keepin’ on, friends πŸ™‚ We’re all in this together.Β 

 

 

Leave a Reply

